Learn

Groww bonds: how to buy bonds on Groww

10 min readUpdated September 2026

Groww sells bonds in two ways today. Bond IPOs — new NCD issues you apply for like a share IPO — have been live since July 2025, from ₹10,000. Since late May 2026 you can also buy already-listed corporate bonds directly in the app and on the website, from about ₹1,000 on some bonds. On 25 Sep 2026 Groww's bond screener listed 26 such bonds, mostly A- to AA-rated NBFC and microfinance paper yielding roughly 8.15–12.25%. Groww is a SEBI-registered stock broker and online bond platform provider (Groww Invest Tech Pvt Ltd, reg. no. INZ000301838), and according to NSE data cited by Moneycontrol it handled about ₹200 crore of bond purchases in July 2026 — already level with long-running bond platforms like GoldenPi and Grip. This guide covers exactly what you can buy, who actually supplies the bonds, the step-by-step to place an order, what it costs (Groww publishes no bond fee), and how Groww compares with Zerodha and pure-play bond platforms.

What bonds you can buy on Groww right now

Groww's bond menu has two live products. The first is bond IPOs: when a company or NBFC raises money through a public issue of non-convertible debentures (NCDs), you apply for an allotment from the Bonds section, much like a share IPO. Groww launched this on 24 July 2025 with a ₹10,000 minimum (₹1,000 per unit). On 25 Sep 2026 one issue was open (an Edelweiss Financial Services NCD) and seven recent issues were listed as closed.

The second, and now the bigger one, is listed corporate bonds on the secondary market. Groww announced 'Explore and Invest in Bonds Anytime' on 27 May 2026: you browse bonds that are already listed, compare them on yield, tenure, credit rating, payout frequency and minimum investment, and buy directly in the app or on the website. On 25 Sep 2026 the screener at groww.in/bonds/corporate-bonds listed 26 bonds with yields to maturity from 8.15% to 12.25%, minimum investments from about ₹986 to about ₹1.01 lakh, and ratings from AA+ down to BBB+ (one AA+, one AA, ten AA-, five A+, three A, three A- and three BBB+). The shelf is dominated by NBFCs and microfinance lenders — names like IIFL Samasta, Muthoot Microfin, Kosamattam, Aye Finance and Keertana Finserv — alongside a few corporates such as Adani Enterprises, Adani Airport Holdings and Dishman Carbogen Amcis.

What Groww does not sell is government paper. There is no in-app route to buy G-secs, T-bills or state development loans (SDLs): Groww's government-bond URLs return errors and its bond sitemap contains only corporate ISINs. Sovereign Gold Bonds have a page, but no new SGB series is open, so older SGBs can only be bought on the exchange. If you want sovereign bonds at auction prices with no markup, RBI Retail Direct is the direct route — see government bonds in India and treasury bills.

Your bonds settle into your CDSL demat account (Groww's DP registration IN-DP-417-2019), not into a Groww wallet, so they are held in your name by the depository — the same protection as shares bought through any SEBI-registered broker.

Groww bonds at a glance
ItemDetail (as of 25 Sep 2026)
Broking / bond-platform entityGroww Invest Tech Pvt Ltd (formerly Nextbillion Technology Pvt Ltd), SEBI reg. INZ000301838
Online bond platform (OBPP) statusBSE member 6699, active since 9 Jul 2025; NSE member 90187, enabled 7 Nov 2025 (exchange OBPP lists linked from SEBI)
Bond IPOsLive since 24 Jul 2025 — ₹10,000 minimum (₹1,000 per unit), applications 10:00–17:00 on market days
Listed corporate bondsLive since late May 2026 — 26 bonds listed, YTM 8.15–12.25%, minimum ~₹986 to ~₹1.01 lakh
Ratings on the listed shelfAA+ (1), AA (1), AA- (10), A+ (5), A (3), A- (3), BBB+ (3)
Who supplies the listed bondsEach bond page says 'Powered by Yubi' (14 bonds) or 'Powered by Northern Arc' (12 bonds)
G-secs / T-bills / SDLsNot available — use RBI Retail Direct or a broker that routes RBI auctions
Published bond feeNone — Groww's pricing page has no bond line
Scale~₹200 crore of bonds bought in July 2026 (NSE data via Moneycontrol, 2 Sep 2026)

Checked 25 Sep 2026 on groww.in/bonds, groww.in/bonds/corporate-bonds, individual bond pages, Groww's pricing page and the NSE (16 Sep 2026) and BSE (24 Sep 2026) OBPP lists. Groww's shelf changes often — check the app for the live list. Sources are listed at the end.

Who actually supplies Groww's bonds

This is the detail most Groww bond guides miss. Every listed-bond page on Groww carries a 'Powered by' line. On 25 Sep 2026, 14 of the 26 bonds said 'Powered by Yubi' and the other 12 said 'Powered by Northern Arc'. Yubi is the group behind the Aspero bond platform, and Northern Arc runs AltiFi through Northern Arc Securities, itself a SEBI-registered bond platform. In other words, Groww's listed-bond shelf is sourced from two established fixed-income houses rather than originated by Groww itself.

That matters in two practical ways. First, the same bond is often available on the supplier's own platform, so it is worth checking the yield there before you buy — two platforms can quote different yields for the same ISIN because each adds its own spread. Second, it tells you where the credit work comes from: Groww's bond pages show the rating, the rating agency's rationale, the trustee and the information memorandum, but the selection of issuers reflects what Yubi and Northern Arc bring to the shelf.

How to buy a bond on Groww — step by step

Both products sit in the Bonds section of the Groww app (and on groww.in/bonds). Listed bonds can be bought whenever the platform is open for orders; bond IPOs only while an issue is open and only within market hours.

  • 1. Open Bonds and pick the listed-bonds screener. Use the filters and sorting to narrow the list by credit rating, minimum investment, tenure, payout frequency and yield.
  • 2. Open a bond page and read it properly. It shows the yield to maturity (YTM), coupon, current yield, clean and dirty price, maturity date, payout schedule (monthly, quarterly, annual or cumulative, and whether principal is repaid in instalments), minimum investment, trustee, the rating with the agency's rationale, and the information memorandum. The YTM at your buy price — not the coupon — is the return you lock in if you hold to maturity.
  • 3. Check the credit, not just the yield. A 12% yield on a BBB+ microfinance bond is payment for real default risk. Read the rating rationale and decide how much of your fixed-income money you are willing to put into sub-AAA paper.
  • 4. Enter the quantity and place the order. The bonds settle into your demat account, and coupons are paid to your linked bank account on the payout schedule.
  • 5. For a bond IPO instead: go to the IPO tab, choose a series (monthly, annual or cumulative payout), enter units in multiples that meet the ₹10,000 minimum and apply between 10:00 and 17:00 on a market day. Allotment is not guaranteed; if allotted, the NCDs are credited to your demat and list on the exchange on the date shown.

What it costs — and why the fee is hard to pin down

Groww's public pricing page lists brokerage for stocks, F&O and other products, but has no line for bonds, and its bond announcements do not mention a fee. So you cannot read Groww's bond cost off a rate card.

Bond IPO applications carry no brokerage, as with share IPOs — the issuer pays for distribution. For listed bonds sold through an online bond platform, the industry model is 'zero brokerage' with the platform's earning built into the price: the bond is offered to you at a slightly lower yield than the platform sourced it at. Groww does not disclose any such spread, and neither do most bond platforms. The practical defence is the same everywhere: ignore the word 'zero' and compare the net YTM on the order screen with what the same ISIN is offered at elsewhere — including on the supplier's own platform — before you buy.

One more cost to remember is tax. Bond interest is taxed at your income-tax slab, so a 10% coupon is roughly a 7% post-tax return in the 30% bracket. Always compare bonds with FDs on a post-tax basis — the math is in how to invest in bonds.

Groww vs Zerodha vs a pure-play bond platform

Where you buy a bond changes the price you pay and the shelf you choose from. Groww now behaves like a pure-play bond platform inside a mass-market app: a curated shelf of listed corporate bonds plus bond IPOs, priced the platform way. Zerodha works differently — you buy listed bonds and NCDs on Kite at the live exchange price and bid for G-secs, T-bills and SDLs in RBI auctions, with no curated shelf. Moneycontrol reported on 26 Aug 2026 that Zerodha has SEBI's nod to launch a corporate-bond platform, but NSE's OBPP list still showed it as 'Not Enabled' on 16 Sep 2026, so for now Zerodha remains the exchange route.

Pure-play platforms like Wint Wealth and IndiaBonds curate larger shelves and have longer track records. By NSE data cited by Moneycontrol (2 Sep 2026), Wint Wealth handles about ₹900 crore of bond purchases a month — roughly half of all OBPP transactions — Stable Money about ₹600 crore, GoldenPi and Grip over ₹200 crore each, and Groww about ₹200 crore in July, within two months of launch.

Buying bonds: Groww vs Zerodha vs pure-play platforms
Where you buySEBI statusWhat you can buyTypical minimumHow it makes moneyBest for
GrowwStock broker + OBPP (INZ000301838)Listed corporate bonds (26 on 25 Sep 2026, mostly A to AA- NBFCs) + bond IPOs; no G-secs~₹1,000 to ~₹1 lakh (listed); ₹10,000 (IPOs)No published bond fee; platform earning expected to sit in the price (undisclosed)Existing Groww users who want rated corporate bonds next to their stocks and funds
ZerodhaStock broker; OBPP approval reported Aug 2026, not enabled (Sep 2026)Listed bonds, NCDs and tax-free bonds on Kite; G-secs, T-bills and SDLs via RBI auctions~₹1,000 (one listed unit); ~₹10,000 for a G-sec bidExchange price, no curated markup; normal brokerage on exchange tradesDIY investors who want exchange prices and government securities
Wint WealthOBPP (INZ000313632)Curated secured NBFC and securitised bonds (~9–12%)₹1,000 marketed (~₹10,000 typical)'Zero brokerage' — undisclosed spread plus issuer feesYield hunters who understand NBFC credit and hold to maturity
IndiaBondsOBPP (INZ000311637)Broad shelf of listed corporate bonds and G-secs~₹10,000'Zero brokerage' — spread in the priceBrowsing a wide corporate-bond shelf in one place

As of 25 Sep 2026. Groww shelf and exchange-list data checked that day; Wint Wealth and IndiaBonds per knowyourbrokerage's /bonds reviews. Yields and minimums move — verify live before investing.

Is Groww the right place to buy your bonds?

Groww suits someone who already invests through Groww and wants to add a few rated corporate bonds without opening another account. The screener is clean, each bond page shows the rating rationale, trustee and information memorandum, and minimums start low.

It is a weaker fit if you want government securities (not offered), the widest choice (dedicated platforms list far more bonds), or the most transparent pricing (the exchange route on a broker like Zerodha, or RBI Retail Direct for G-secs). And because the listed shelf is mostly A to AA- NBFC and microfinance paper, the higher yields are payment for credit risk.

Whatever app you use, the risks that decide a bond's outcome do not change: default risk (the CARE-rated TruCap NCD default in July 2025 hit buyers on several regulated platforms), thin liquidity (plan to hold to maturity), interest-rate risk if you sell early, and slab-rate tax on interest. For the platform verdict — safety, fees and who supplies the bonds — read our Groww Bonds review, and compare it head-to-head with Wint Wealth and Stable Money.

Read next
Sources
  1. https://groww.in/bonds
  2. https://groww.in/bonds/corporate-bonds
  3. https://groww.in/bonds/ipo
  4. https://groww.in/updates/secondary-market-bonds-on-groww
  5. https://groww.in/updates/bond-ipos-on-groww
  6. https://groww.in/pricing
  7. https://www.sebi.gov.in/online-bond-platform-providers.html
  8. https://www.moneycontrol.com/technology/zerodha-angel-one-secure-sebi-license-to-offer-corporate-bonds-article-14015488.html
  9. https://www.moneycontrol.com/technology/online-bond-platforms-see-sharp-growth-as-retail-investors-warm-up-to-corporate-debt-amid-muted-equity-returns-article-14020572.html
  10. https://entrackr.com/news/groww-secures-sebis-online-bond-distribution-licence-report-10891040
  11. https://www.sebi.gov.in/enforcement/orders/may-2025/settlement-order-in-the-matter-of-groww-invest-tech-private-limited-formerly-known-as-nextbillion-technology-private-limited-_93887.html
  12. https://support.zerodha.com/category/trading-and-markets/trading-faqs/trading-categories-and-groups/articles/debentures-bonds-on-kite
  13. https://support.zerodha.com/category/trading-and-markets/general-kite/govt-securities/articles/buy-gsecs
Back to Learn

Frequently asked

What people ask about groww bonds: how to buy bonds on groww.

Yes. Since late May 2026 you can buy listed corporate bonds directly in the Groww app and website — 26 were listed on 25 Sep 2026, mostly A- to AA-rated NBFC and microfinance bonds yielding about 8.15–12.25%. You can also apply for bond IPOs (public NCD issues), live since July 2025. Groww does not offer G-secs, T-bills or SDLs; use RBI Retail Direct for those.

For listed bonds it depends on the bond: on 25 Sep 2026 minimums ranged from about ₹986 to about ₹1.01 lakh. For a bond IPO the minimum is ₹10,000 (₹1,000 per unit). Check the minimum on the specific bond's page.

Each listed-bond page on Groww shows who powers it. On 25 Sep 2026, 14 of 26 bonds said 'Powered by Yubi' (the group behind the Aspero bond platform) and 12 said 'Powered by Northern Arc' (which runs AltiFi). Groww distributes these bonds inside its app rather than originating them itself.

Groww publishes no bond fee — its pricing page has no bond line. Bond IPO applications carry no brokerage. For listed bonds, platforms typically earn through a spread built into the price rather than a visible commission, and Groww does not disclose one. Judge each bond by the net YTM on the order screen and compare it with the same ISIN elsewhere.

No. Groww has no route to buy G-secs, T-bills or SDLs, and no new Sovereign Gold Bond series is open. RBI Retail Direct (rbiretaildirect.org.in) sells government securities at auction prices with no fees; brokers such as Zerodha also route RBI auctions.

They work differently. Groww offers a curated shelf of listed corporate bonds and bond IPOs, priced the platform way with no published fee. Zerodha lets you buy listed bonds on Kite at the live exchange price and bid for G-secs, T-bills and SDLs, with no curation; it has reportedly received SEBI approval for a bond platform (Aug 2026) but was still 'Not Enabled' on NSE's list in September 2026. Pick Groww for convenience inside the app you already use; pick Zerodha for exchange pricing and government securities.

The platform layer is regulated: Groww is a SEBI-registered broker and bond platform, and bonds settle into your own CDSL demat account. But a safe platform is not a safe bond. Most of Groww's listed shelf is sub-AAA NBFC and microfinance paper, and the higher yields reflect real default risk. No corporate bond is capital-guaranteed — check the rating and rationale, spread your money, and buy only what you can hold to maturity.